Am I Sacrificing Speed When I Am Detail-Oriented?

In today’s day and age, time has become one of the world’s most prized treasures in the consideration of the idea of competition, advancement in technology, self improvement, among many other things.

So generally most of us tend to look at our watches not to look at what time it is, but how much time we have left; how many opportunities do we have left that is dwindling with every passing moment to finish a crucial project or exam or task to be one step closer to the winner that we all want to be.

Practically speaking though, we do not progress any faster or slower when we obsess over time.  I have made the mistake of looking at time to see how long and how much I have been working, only to later hold this against myself with thoughts like, “You worked for X amount of hours.  It’s time to take a break or risk ‘overworking’.”

Yes, the world does require a specific ‘level’ of understanding and competency in many aspects of our life, but it’s dangerous to muddle this circumstance with the task: if I need to learn X number of topics by the weekend, the task is to learn X number of topics.  When I look at the time to see how much/little time I have left, or roughly estimate how much work I did in thirty minutes, that is still not the task I actually need to participate in, to do what needs to be done.  What I have realised is that in spite of this common sense, I placed a substantial amount of time (in a time period of 24 hours) into worrying about time, like how people may check their emails nonstop throughout the day.

The bottom line is that no matter how I feel about time – how much, how little, how fast or slow – the basic conditions are that time will continue at the same pace, and time only denotes the amount of opportunities as moments where I can work.  Placing 5 hours of time into a task is equally unproductive if in those 5 hours of designated time, I spend 3 hours drifting into thoughts about how much/little/fast/slow time is going, among many other things that we think about.

I had moments where I worked with no thoughts about the abundance/lack of time, and it has always been those moments when I was most productive.  When I was placing my attention on the accuracy/specificity of reading the material alone – completing the questions, listening to tutorial videos for a particular topic – I am most effective.

In my mind, there is an urban myth floating around that speed and accuracy are mutually exclusive.  From also believing in this notion for no clear reason, I go in the opposite ‘direction’ of where/when/how I am most effective in studying: when I apply myself to being more specific with every detail of studying, one moment at a time.

In reality, I have proven to myself that I am most effective when I stop, breathe, and apply myself within/as specificity.  So common sense is to realise that time is only a blank canvas, and I require applying myself to paint the blank canvas of time as my life into something worthwhile and useful in sharing what I have given to myself to others, and giving to myself what I would like such as being capable of studying effectively.  That would mean focusing on accuracy more, from where I currently stand with time and effort as the obsession with time at the cost of effort.

A moment is defined by the switch between two actions and/or circumstances.  When I am here writing, this is the start of one moment.  When someone comes into the room where I am writing, this denotes the end of this one moment and the beginning of another.  So macroscopically, in terms of hours, days, weeks, and years = time has always been defined by the ‘remaining here’ part of the task at hand, and moving into the next task and so on.  The illusion of time is the idea I have cheated myself into believing: that time is defined by the ending and beginning of deadlines for projects, appointments, learning.

So the self correction here – to more effectively invest my time throughout the day – is to align my attention to doings rather than time periods for each activity.  Regardless of what I think about time, it will continue moving at a steady pace so from that perspective, I can trust that time will reveal when an hour has elapsed.  But in terms of what I do/participate in in each moment, this has been the point where I abdicated responsibility to my thoughts, only to create dysfunctional habits that do not consider what is here, and only how I feel in my Mind.  So I require applying myself in remaining here within/as what I am doing in every moment because this is the same point in which I have ab-used to create the current habits I would like to stop and change.

I never have to rush in my Mind, by/through participating in thoughts about how much/little time I have or how fast/slow time is, because regardless of what I say/do in my Mind alone = time remains the same, at the same pace.  The point where I can make the biggest difference within/as myself in everything is directing and asserting my decisions of WHAT I do/participate in every moment of time that is here.  So from that perspective, accuracy is ‘more’ important than time because time remains constant, while the accuracy/specificity of my participation does not according-to/because-of my acceptance and allowance.  I require realigning my acceptances and allowances to give myself the ability to be stable within/as being specific with my participation.

About Kasper Kwan

Currently supporting myself in the process of establishing my words in the physical principles of Oneness and Equality. Had to start this process because I have allowed and accepted my words to be established in the mental idea of self-interest/greed, and only realised this recently.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

